joint commission

The Five Stages of Grief

The Five Stages of Grief

Losing a loved one is the most painful experience one could ever have. Even if you did have time to prepare yourself for the loss, you still feel insurmountable grief. 

After losing a loved one, you may go through the five stages of grief. As a provider of hospice care in Simi Valley, California, we would like to explain each to help you through the grieving process.

  1. Denial
    Denial can help lessen the pain of the loss. While you process your new reality, you are also trying to deal with the emotional hurt. It may take a while for you to accept this version of your life.
  2. Anger
    It is normal to feel angry after losing a loved one. With so many emotions to process, anger may seem like an easy outlet to express your feelings. Sadly, anger may leave you feeling isolated and perhaps unapproachable to others.
  3. Bargaining
    Dealing with a loss so big can make you feel desperate to the point where you would do almost everything to get rid of the pain. You may try to find ways how to avoid the present pain or the pain you are expecting from loss. Bargaining gives you a “sense of control” over something that seems beyond your power.
  4. Depression
    At some point in the grieving process, you will begin looking at the reality of your life. You are forced to deal with what happened. Here, the loss is felt more strongly. As the pain grows, you may find yourself retreating and staying away from the people who care about you.
  5. Acceptance
    Accepting the loss does not mean you are no longer hurting. It simply means you are not working to make your reality into something it is not. While sadness and regret may still be felt, denial, bargaining, and depression will not likely be experienced here.

Are you still reeling from the loss of a loved one with a terminal illness? Grief counseling can give you the support you need.

AMERICUS HOSPICE, INC. is here for you. Learn more about our hospice care and respite care in California today.

This entry was posted in Grief and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *